TFFPN Board Statement

27 November 2023

At its September AGM, the TFFPN membership welcomed four new elected board directors – Brodie Frost, Bonnie Galbraith, David Milne and Louise Wallis – who joined continuing directors, Phillip Blacklow, Julianne O’Reilly-Wapstra and Francis Richardson.

This followed the resignation of four directors whose terms were completed; three of whom were founding directors of the TFFPN.

The elected directors undertook a rigorous and transparent analysis of the board’s existing skills and representation, assessing its requirements for the next financial year. This analysis identified a lack of depth in governance and other business and corporate skills including financial management and fundraising, which it identified as an important part of a sustainable industry organisation with free membership.

The board also established it was underrepresented in the northwest of the state and resolved to appoint a director from this region.

The TFFPN Constitution states that the board should comprise seven elected directors, with the option for the board to appoint two additional directors if it is lacking particular skills and representation.

As a direct result of the review, former founding board director Andrew Morgan, and Network Women in Leadership scholarship recipient Amanda Sharman were approached to be appointed to the board. The pair were formally welcomed at the first board meeting following the AGM on Tuesday 14 November.

At this same meeting, TFFPN Board elected its office bearers, welcoming Julianne O’Reilly-Wapstra as Board Chair, Brodie Frost as Deputy Chair and Amanda Sharman as Treasurer. The role of Secretary was delegated to Network Convenor, Sue Grau.

This is the first time the TFFPN Board has chosen to appoint additional directors, who under the TFFPN Constitution will hold office until the first meeting following the next AGM. This will ensure continuity and adequate skills and representation to move the Network forward.

The TFFPN Board also acknowledges the enthusiasm and support of its members, which was evidenced by an unprecedented number of nominees standing for election at this year’s AGM. This was taken into account in the process for selecting appointed directors.

A review of the composition and structure of the TFFPN Board will be undertaken prior to September 2024 and the board intends to provide recommendations to the membership at the next AGM.

The Network Board would like to take this opportunity to thank its outgoing directors – Steve Whiteley, Bryan Hayes and Tim Bates – for their invaluable contribution, service to and support of the TFFPN.

Tasmanian Forests and Forest Products Network Board 

Prof. Julianne O’Reilly-Wapstra (Chair)

Brodie Frost (Deputy Chair)

Amanda Sharman (Treasurer)

Dr Phillip Blacklow

Bonnie Galbraith

David Milne

Andrew Morgan

Francis Richardson

Dr Louise Wallis

Network Staff

Sue Grau, Convenor (0.4FTE)

Romany Brodribb, Manager, Communications and Member Services (0.6FTE)

Tasmania Forestry Hub staff (housed by the Network)

Tracey Taylor, General Manager (full time)